• 1
  • 2
  • 3

Media Studies Establishes Academic Prizes

To further the pursuit of excellence in academic achievements and research, the department of Media Studies has inaugurated a series of prizes to recognise outstanding work at all levels of study. The awards are issued to students who have completed their third and final year of their undergraduate degree, as well as students who have completed a Honours, Masters or PhD postgraduate degree.

The awards are as follows:

Media Monitoring Africa Prize (R300), awarded to the top third year student in Media Studies.

Chouliaraki & Orgad Long Paper Prize (R500), awarded for excellence in research at Honours level.

Stuart Hall Prize for Postgraduate Research Excellence (R750), awarded to the top MA dissertation.

Prize for Postgraduate Research Excellence (R1,000), awarded to the top PhD thesis. This is a discretionary award that is not given every year.

The MA and PhD prizes are sponsored by Professor Tawana Kupe, who was a pioneer in establishing the department. The Honours prize is sponsored by Dr Mehita Iqani and goes to the top student for their research project. The 3rd year prize is sponsored by Media Monitoring Africa and goes to the student with the highest average mark throughout the entire academic year.

Winners will be decided upon by a committee constituted by the School, with the Head of School as chair. No members of the Media Studies department will be involved in the decision-making process.

Follow us on Twitter